Kerry A. Pelser, P. Eng.

Kerry A. Pelser is the Technical Director and Chief Engineer at D.E.M. Allen & Associates Ltd. and has been with the firm for over 30 years.

Kerry attended the University of Manitoba and achieved his Bachelor of Science (Electrical Engineering) degree in 1983.

Kerry joined D.E.M. Allen & Associates Ltd. as a consulting engineer in the spring of 1983, and has been involved in all aspects of the company's area of expertise, including the design, specification and commissioning of consulting engineering projects in the areas of:

  • AM, FM, TV and DTV broadcast transmitting facilities
  • Point-to-point radiofrequency communication systems. This includes the design of single and multi-hop systems operating from 450 MHz to 28 GHz providing carriage of audio, video and data for a wide range of users. These systems are used for broadcast auxiliary, SCADA, LAN and interconnection between MDS-TV sites.
  • Point-to-multipoint radiofrequency communication systems. He was extensively involved with the Multipoint Distribution Systems (MDS-TV) implemented in Manitoba and Saskatchewan.  This also included the design of the point-to-point links interconnecting the distribution sites.

Kerry's expertise also includes:

  • Providing services to clients with respect to regulatory requirements and licensing procedures for radiofrequency systems. This includes the preparation of Technical Briefs and equipment certification applications for submission to Industry Canada.
  • Calculations and measurements of high level radiofrequency fields with respect to compliance with Health and Welfare Canada Safety Code 6 limits.
  • The design, tendering and commissioning of the communications portion of large multidisciplinary SCADA systems.
  • In-field adjustments and testing of radiofrequency transmission systems.

Kerry is a registered Professional Engineer with the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of the Province of Manitoba, the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists, and Geophysicists of Alberta, and the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of British Columbia.